i hate muffins

Hate is a strong word. It may be a little too strong used in this title, but I do bear a grudge against muffins. MAKING muffins, at least.

You see, I’m not very good at it.

I know, I know…how can someone screw up muffins? It all seems pretty simple, and then I remember that you can’t just fill the batter to the top of the cups or that the bake time is usually lower than an actual cake. Things get pretty ugly then.

However, I wanted banana bread on Monday, and the bananas were ready for a new life. Being without a bread pan, I had to resort to the muffin tin. UGH.

But, because I’m posting this and you may have already scrolled down to the pictures, we both know things turned out alright.

And for me, this was my FIRST batch of semi-successful cupcakes/muffins EVER. I say semi-successful because I browned the bottoms of the muffins just a little too much. But they were extra-successful with the second batch, which I made with chocolate chips. Yummy.

Also, I decided to use Greek yogurt in this ince it’s supposed to be healthier and I have a lot to use before I leave Chicago. If you’re interested in making some cute cupcakes yourself, here’s the recipe!

Greek Yogurt Cupcakes

from gettin’ my healthy on 

Ingredients:

  • 2 c flour
  • 1/2 c 0% Greek yogurt
  • 1 c ripe bananas, mashed (about 2 medium bananas)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 c salted butter, softened
  • 1/2 c brown sugar, packed
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 c walnuts, chopped (optional)
  • 1 c chocolate chips (optional)
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla

Instructions:

  1. Combine flour, baking soda, baking powder, and cinnamon in medium bowl. Set aside.
  2. In large bowl, cream together butter and sugar. Add yogurt, bananas, eggs, and vanilla and mix.
  3. Slowly incorporate dry ingredients into wet ingredients, mixing just until combined. Mix in walnuts.
  4. In a greased bread pan, bake for 45 minutes at 375 degrees.

IMG_0635

IMG_0636

2 thoughts on “i hate muffins

  1. Awesome!!! I’ve been tempted to make my recipe into muffins, so I’m happy to hear it works out!

Leave a Reply

